Volleyball splits Saturday matches at Mount Union Invite

Caroline Mulvihill

ALLIANCE, Ohio – Earlham College volleyball took a split out of its two matches on Saturday at the Mount Union Invitational, posting a 3-2 (28-26, 25-15, 23-25, 24-26, 15-9) win over Brockport State before falling to the host squad from Mount Union, 3-0 (25-11, 25-12, 25-11).

The Quakers finished the tournament with a 3-1 record. Senior setter Lauren Jackson was the lone Earlham selection to the All-Tournament team, after finishing the tournament with 111 assists (8.54 per set) with 31 digs.

In the Quakers' win over SUNY Brockport, Caroline Mulvihill pounded down 20 kills against two errors on 49 attacks for a .367 hitting percentage to lead Earlham offensively. Abbey Zanatta charted 14 kills and Sarah Dickman tallied 12 terminations in the win. Zanatta and Giselle Mora (six kills) each had three block assists.

Jackson recorded 50 assists while running an Earlham attack that hit at a .190 clip over the five-set marathon. Five players finished with double-digit dig totals, led by Julia Stewart with 19.

Meaghan Mastro and Jordan Thompson paced Brockport State with 13 kills each to lead a Golden Eagles squad that hit .177 for the match. Mastro also recorded seven block assists.

In the day's final match against a Mount Union squad that received votes in the AVCA Division III preseason coaches' poll, Earlham battled to a .030 hitting percentage while the Raiders were firing at a .242 hitting percentage. Stewart, Dickman, and Mulvihill each finished the match with four kills, with Zanatta and Mora each charting two block assists. Jackson tallied 14 assists in the loss, while Sydney Ameluxen turned up 11 digs for the Quakers.

Mount Union was aided by 11 service aces and seven blocks over the three-set affair. Madelin DiBease led the Raiders with seven kills, while Breanna Arnett added six.

Earlham volleyball makes its home debut on Tuesday, Sept. 3, when it hosts Capital University at the Druley Performance Gym. Start time for the match is 7:00 p.m.


MVP – Brooke Fatheree, Muskingum

Erin Richardson, Muskingum
Megan Mastro, Brockport
Hayley Nash, Wooster
Bre Arnett, Mount Union
Lauren Jackson, Earlham
Ashley Stumperth, Mount Vernon Nazarene